Discover the DBI 

 
   

Data available

Developed and maintained at HEC Montréal since 2006, the IOFSC Research Database provides instant access to the institutional profiles of financial services cooperatives (FSCs) from over 26 countries. The institutional information is represented by 23 variables and the financial information by 70 variables, including performance and capitalization ratios. The Research Database offers objective, verifiable and relevant quantitative and qualitative data collected annually over a period going back up to 15 years.

Through institutional partnerships, the IOFSC also has other detailed databases on commercial banks and FSCs in various geographical regions, to serve the specific purpose of the International Research Centre on Cooperative Finance.

Data valorization

The variables are organized through a common scheme to allow data comparison, which has been the subject of a research project funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) of Canada. The development of the scheme was carried out through a three-level benchmarking, including a comparative analysis of existing banking industry databases along with analysis of FSCs and the annual reports of commercial banks. To maximize uniformity, an inter-institution dictionary and an intra-institution glossary have been developed.

Data reliability

The IOFSC team collects financial and operational data from FSCs using original documents, such as annual reports, audited financial statements and official websites of institutions. The data collection is based on the disclosure standards of the financial services industry. The data collected is reclassified according to the common scheme established while respecting the integrity of the information. A data entry policy, established by the IOFSC team, enables uniform data collection.

What motivated the creation of the Research database

A comparative analysis of commercial data suppliers, who provide specialized databases of commercial financial institutions, has shown that even though some of these databases contain information on FSCs, they are often presented in an irregular or incomplete manner. Moreover, this data does not take into account the organizational network structure of cooperative groups, which has led to the partial and inadequate representation of FSCs. Thus, quantitative information on FSCs available in electronic format is characterized by a lack of usability, tracking and sustainability, as well as dispersion and disorganization. Indeed, information on FSCs, when it exists, is either very localized or drawn from commercial banks.

Development of the Research Database

The IOFSC team continues to enhance the databases on FSCs and other types of stakeholder financial institutions, with available data from public sources. However, this is not sufficient and needs to be complemented with data from the cooperatives and the other institutions themselves.

Aimed at developing a knowledge base, a proposal has been submitted to the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) to fund technological modifications to the system, in order to add trend analysis and benchmarking tools, graphics capabilities and report generation. It is also intended to develop an XBRL taxonomy for FSCs and add data for more FSCs across the world.

For more information on the IOFSC Research Database, please contact us.



Authentication
authentication
Username
Password
register
coopsyear

Découvrir la BDI 

 
   

Disponibilité des données

Développée et gérée à HEC Montréal depuis 2006, la Banque de données sur les institutions (BDI) de l’OICSF offre un accès instantané à des profils institutionnels de coopératives de services financiers (CSF) pour des institutions provenant de plus de 26 pays. L’information institutionnelle est représentée par 23 variables et l’information financière par 70 variables, incluant des ratios de performance et de capitalisation. La Base de données de recherche offre des données quantitatives et qualitatives objectives, vérifiées et pertinentes saisies annuellement sur une période allant jusqu’à 15 ans.

Grâce à ses partenariats institutionnels, l’OICSF possède également d’autres bases de données plus détaillées sur les banques commerciales et les CSF de diverses régions géographiques, servant aux objectifs spécifiques du Centre international de recherche sur la finance coopérative.

Valorisation des données

Les variables sont organisées par le biais d’un schéma commun, afin de permettre la comparabilité des données et qui a fait l’objet d’un projet de recherche financé par le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) du Canada. L’élaboration du schéma a été effectuée selon un étalonnage à trois niveaux incluant une analyse comparative des bases de données existantes sur l’industrie bancaire et l’analyse des rapports annuels des CSF d’une part, et des banques commerciales d’autre part. Pour optimiser l’uniformisation, un dictionnaire inter-institution ainsi que des glossaires intra-institution ont été développés.

Fiabilité des données de la BDI

L’équipe de l’OICSF recueille des données financières et opérationnelles auprès des CSF en utilisant les documents d’origine, tels que les rapports annuels, les états financiers vérifiés, et les sites officiels des institutions. La collecte des données est basée sur les normes de divulgation de l’industrie des services financiers. Les données recueillies sont reclassées selon le schéma commun établi tout en respectant l’intégrité de l’information. Une politique de saisie établie par l’équipe de l’OICSF permet de rendre la collecte de données uniforme.

Ce qui a motivé la création de la Base de données de recherche

Une analyse comparative des fournisseurs qui offrent des banques de données spécialisées sur les institutions financières commerciales nous a démontré que même si certaines de ces banques de données incluent des informations sur les CSF, elles sont souvent présentées de façon irrégulière et incomplète. De plus, ces données ne tiennent pas compte du mode d’organisation en réseau des groupes coopératifs, ce qui les conduit à des représentations partielles et inadéquates des CSF. Ainsi, l’information quantitative sur les CSF disponible en format électronique est caractérisée par un manque d’utilisabilité, de repérage et de pérennité ainsi que par la dispersion et la désorganisation. En effet, l’information sur les CSF, quand elle existe, est soit très localisée soit noyée à travers celle des banques commerciales.

Développement de la Base de données de recherche

L’équipe de l’OICSF continue d’améliorer les bases de données sur les CSF et autres types d’institutions financières à valeur ajoutée pour les parties prenantes, avec des données disponibles provenant de sources publiques. Toutefois, cela ne suffit pas et doit être complété avec les données des coopératives et des autres institutions elles-mêmes.

Visant à développer une base de connaissances, une proposition a été soumise à la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation (FCI) pour financer des modifications technologiques au système afin d’ajouter des outils d’analyse de tendance et d’analyse comparative, des fonctionnalités graphiques, la création de rapports ainsi que de développer une taxonomie XBRL pour les CSF et ajouter des données pour davantage de CSF à travers le monde.

Pour obtenir davantage d’information sur la Base de données de recherche de l’OICSF, contactez-nous.



Authentification
authentication
Nom d'usager
Mot de passe
register
coopsyear