Mission and Objectives 

 
   

Context

Financial services cooperatives (FSCs) hold a significant place in the economy of many countries. The roles they play in the economic development, the stabilization of the financial industry and the offer of financial services in some regions and to less favored clienteles set them apart from commercial banks. These roles are the result of institutional characteristics of their own (constitution of an indivisible social capital, democratic representation, surplus divided by activity, etc.). For this reason, they are the subject of specific research, either by FSCs themselves, by academic researchers, or by development or regulatory agencies.

The scarcity of comparable data

The challenge currently facing those interested in research on FSCs is the scarcity of comparable data and the poor dissemination of researches. Access to these researches is difficult because of both their scattering and the absence of international organizations centralizing this information. Researches on FSCs are either published in journals of very heterogeneous disciplines or produced in “grey” literature that is not published or poorly disseminated by the FSCs or other organizations. As a result, many observers are unaware of the importance of FSCs in a large number of countries around the world, as well as of their specific roles in the economic development, the stabilization of the financial industry and the offer of financial services in sectors and regions where access to credit is limited.

Mission and objectives

Following a feasibility study under the direction of researchers Benoît Tremblay and Inmaculada Buendía Martínez, the Desjardins Center of HEC Montréal decided, with the agreement of the Desjardins Group, to create the International Observatory on Financial Services Cooperatives (IOFSC).

The mission of the IOFSC is to contribute to the development of the scientific analysis of the FSCs and of their environment by providing academic and institutional researchers access to existing knowledge and relevant data. To achieve its mission, the IOFSC has three objectives:

  1. Identify, acquire, organize, preserve and exploit information on FSCs;
  2. Disseminate information and research on FSCs by means of user-friendly tools;
  3. Provide quantitative and qualitative data processing services.

The IOFSC aims to make available qualitative and quantitative information on FSCs at the international level through its Web portal.



Authentication
authentication
Username
Password
register
coopsyear

Mission et objectifs 

 
   

Contexte

Les coopératives de services financiers (CSF) occupent une place significative dans l’économie d’un grand nombre de pays. Le rôle qu’elles jouent dans le développement économique, la stabilisation de l’industrie financière et l’offre de services financiers de certaines régions et auprès de clientèles moins favorisées les distingue des banques commerciales. Ces rôles sont la conséquence de caractéristiques institutionnelles qui leur sont propres (constitution d'un capital social impartageable, représentation démocratique, surplus partagés selon les activités, etc.). Elles font pour cette raison l’objet de recherches spécifiques, que ce soit par les CSF elles-mêmes, par des chercheurs universitaires ou par des agences de développement ou de réglementation.

Rareté des données comparables

Le défi auquel font face actuellement ceux qui s’intéressent à la recherche sur les CSF est la rareté des données comparables et la faible diffusion des recherches réalisées. Leur accès est difficile en raison à la fois de leur dispersion et de l’absence d’organismes internationaux centralisant cette information. Les recherches sur les CSF se trouvent soit dans des revues de champs disciplinaires très hétérogènes, soit dans la littérature « grise » produite et non publiée ou faiblement diffusée par les CSF ou les organismes. En conséquence, beaucoup d’observateurs ignorent l’importance des CSF dans un grand nombre de pays à travers le monde, ainsi que leurs rôles spécifiques dans le développement économique, la stabilisation de l’industrie financière et l’offre de services financiers dans des secteurs et des régions où l’accès au crédit est limité.

Mission et objectifs

Suite à une étude de faisabilité réalisée sous la direction des chercheurs Benoît Tremblay et Inmaculada Buendía Martínez, le Centre d’études Desjardins de HEC Montréal a décidé, avec l’accord du Mouvement Desjardins, de créer l’Observatoire international des coopératives de services financiers (OICSF).

La mission de l'OICSF est de contribuer au développement de l'analyse scientifique des CSF et de leur milieu en donnant aux chercheurs universitaires et institutionnels accès aux connaissances existantes et aux données pertinentes. Afin de concrétiser sa mission, l’OICSF s'est fixé trois objectifs :

1.    Identifier, acquérir, organiser, conserver et valoriser l'information sur les CSF;
2.    Diffuser l'information et la recherche sur les CSF à l'aide d'outils conviviaux;
3.    Offrir des services de traitement de données quantitatives et qualitatives.

L'OICSF vise à rendre disponible de l’information qualitative et quantitative sur les CSF et ce, à l’échelle internationale via son portail Web



Authentification
authentication
Nom d'usager
Mot de passe
register
coopsyear